Skip to main content

What Should I Do With Documents That Are Completely Out Of Date?

When a document is no longer accurate, you can remove it from search or mark it deprecated so teammates know to treat it as outdated. Make those changes in the source app, as Glean cannot delete or unshare documents for you.

Unsharing a document

If a document is not valuable anymore, it's best to unshare it or delete it so that no one else will stumble across it. Navigate to the document itself to manually unshare or delete the document. Glean does not have write permissions, so you cannot unshare or delete the document from Glean itself.

Deprecating a document

How to deprecate a document

If your document is no longer valid but may still have some value, you can mark it as Deprecated to act as a warning to your users. This is similar to modifying the title of your document to include the words "deprecated".

For example, there might be documentation for an old product design that's no longer in production, but can serve as a helpful reference for discussions or ideation in the future.

To deprecate a document, go to the Verification → Your content and click on the Deprecate button for a document. You'll see a confirmation in a modal, and also get an option to unshare the document itself.

What happens after I've deprecated a document?

Deprecated documents may still appear on Glean search results. However, a deprecated symbol will appear next to the document on the Search results page. This status will also be seen from the document itself.